A style of Soy Sauce made with Soybeans and little or no wheat. Tamari is a thicker, slightly darker sauce that has a distinctively rich, mellow flavor. It’s used primarily as a table Condiment, as a dipping sauce or for basting. People with gluten sensitivity can use the wheat-free versions.
© 1990 All rights reserved. Published by Barron's.