Gulaman (Agar-Agar)

banner

Preparation info

  • Makes About

    12

    Servings

    Appears in

    Memories of Philippine Kitchens

    Memories of Philippine Kitchens

    By Amy Besa and Romy Dorotan

    Published 2006

    • About

    Dried gulaman or agar-agar is a gum extracted from seaweed. More and more chefs are using this as a vegetarian substitute for gelatin. It is available in Chinese and Japanese markets and in natural food stores. It is sold in colored or white bars. Gulaman can be eaten as is for dessert, but is primarily used as an ingredient in halo-halo, sago [tapioca pearl] drinks, and fruit salads.