Switzerland: The wine regions

Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About
Swiss wine country is divided into six main regions, in decreasing order of importance: Valais, Vaud, German-speaking Switzerland, Geneva, Ticino, and Trois-Lacs (Neuchâtel). The country’s emerging Appellation Contrôlée system is applied by each canton individually.