Vegetarian and Vegan Wines

Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

vegetarian and vegan wines, are increasingly requested by consumers. The main area of concern is the use of animal-based products for fining and stabilizing wine. Of the most common agents, only bentonite is suitable for vegans as well as vegetarians; casein and albumin (see egg whites) are acceptable to most vegetarians; isinglass and gelatin would be unacceptable to most vegetarians and vegans. Although such materials are processing aids rather than additives, it is impossible to guarantee that there is absolutely no residue in the wine and some wine drinkers may object to the use of an animal-derived product. Some winemakers and retailers have started to make this information available on the bottle or at the point of sale. See also labelling information and ingredient labelling.