Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Adelaide, usual abbreviation in the wine world for the University of Adelaide, in South Australia, with which roseworthy Agricultural College was merged in 1991 to form what is now known as the School of Agriculture, Food, and Wine, Australia’s principal and influential centre of wine education and research (see academe and australian influence).

Most of the teaching in oenology, viticulture, and wine business studies takes place in the South Australian capital city of Adelaide at the Waite and North Terrace campuses. At the Waite Campus, students undertake their winemaking in the multi-million-dollar Hickinbotham Roseworthy Wine Science Laboratory owned by the University of Adelaide. They also have access to collaborating partners in the Wine Innovation Cluster located on the Waite Campus that includes the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (csiro) Plant Industry, the australian wine research institute (AWRI), and the South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI), all of them having established a considerable international reputation for research in viticulture and oenology.