Charles Sturt University

Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Charles Sturt University, one of Australia’s foremost research and teaching institutions for grape-growers and winemakers. Courses started in 1976 within the Riverina College of Advanced Education, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales (NSW) to satisfy the need, within the rapidly growing wine industry, for a teaching institution in addition to roseworthy. In 1989, the College combined with other regional teaching institutions in NSW to form Charles Sturt University (CSU). The School of Agricultural and Wine Sciences offers Bachelor of Wine Science and Bachelor of Viticulture degrees in either viticulture or wine science over three years full-time on campus or six years by distance education (DE). Initially a controversial option for the wine industry, DE is now the predominant means of learning, allowing students to continue in their current profession while studying. There is also a shorter Associate Degree in Wine Science (Winegrowing) as a four-year exit point from the longer Bachelor of Wine Business. The Master of Viticulture and Oenology has full-time and DE options and requires a research dissertation. CSU also offers its degrees through partner institutions in New Zealand and elsewhere in Australia.