Appears in
Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Haut-Médoc, the higher, southern part of the Médoc district of Bordeaux which includes the world-famous communes of margaux, pauillac, st-estèphe, and st-julien, as well as the less glamorous ones of listrac and moulis. Red wines made here outside one of these appellations, many of them crus bourgeois, usually qualify for the appellation of Haut-Médoc. For more details, see médoc.