Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Niederösterreich, or Lower austria, is the state in which well over half of the country’s vineyards are situated. In it are the wine regions carnuntum, kamptal, kremstal, thermenregion, traisental, wachau, wagram, and weinviertel. Since the names Kamptal, Kremstal, Traisental, and Weinviertel between 2002 and 2008 became those of official dac appellations of origin reserved for wines made from Grüner Veltliner or (in the first three of these) Riesling, wines made from other varieties are labelled simply Niederösterreich, guaranteeing this name a prominence that it did not previously enjoy.