Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Aragón, known as Aragon, in English. Once a powerful kingdom whose sphere of influence stretched from the levante in the west as far as naples and sicily in the east, Aragón is now one of Spain’s 17 autonomous regions. In the north east of the country, it spans the broad valley of the River Ebro which is flanked by mountains on either side (see map under spain). The north is dominated by the Pyrenees, which feed water on to the arid Ebro plain. To the south and east the climate becomes progressively extreme as the land rises towards the central Spanish plateau.