The regions and quality designations: Thracian Lowlands

Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About
Karnobat, Septemvri, Plovdiv, Yambol, Stara Zagora, Sliven, Shivachevo, Nova Zagora, Haskovo, Ivailovgrad, Lyubimets, Sandanski, South Black Sea, Struma Valley, Pomorie, Assenovgrad, Karlovo, Hissarya, Perushtitsa, Brestnik, Oriahovitsa, Stambolovo, Sakar, Melnik, Harsovo, Sungurlare, Slavyantsi.

Previously there were five regions—Danubian Plain, Rose Valley or Sub-Balkan region, Thracian Lowlands, Black Sea, and South West or Struma Valley—based on distinct climatic and soil differences. They are still widely used in literature and some in the industry are lobbying for these five, and more, to be reinstated. Some Bulgarian producers have started to accept the concepts of terroir and wines that reflect their geographical origin, in contrast to the historical approach of sourcing grapes all over the country. Traditionally the warmer south was more lauded for its rich reds, but the cooler north west overlooking the Danube is now producing some fine, elegant reds.