Appears in

For many people, Emilia-Romagna represents the very best of Italian food. As the home of Parmesan cheese, prosciutto di Parma, traditional aged balsamic vinegar and fresh pasta in all its forms, there is certainly much for the region to be proud of.
Six other regions surround Emilia-Romagna, with the independent Republic of San Marino tucked away between the borders of Emilia-Romagna and Le Marche. Historically, its eight provinces have always been divided between the two separate areas of Emilia and Romagna: Piacenza, Parma, Reggio Emilia, Modena, Ferrara, and most of the regional capital Bologna are officially recognised as being part of Emilia; whereas Forli Cesena, Ravenna, the coastal resort of Rimini and the eastern communes of Bologna are part of Romagna.