Appears in
Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Districtus Austria Controllatus, denotes austrian appellations of origin established and regulated by grower-dominated regional wine committees and intended to define and promote a typical style and flavour profile (including specified grape varieties) for each of Austria’s growing regions. By 2014 there were nine of these. The first, weinviertel, was established in 2002 while the ninth, Wiener gemischter satz, applies to Viennese wines made from field blends or adjacent parcels of at least three varieties and was created in 2013. Kamptal, Kremstal, and Traisental DACs may be applied to both varietally labelled Riesling and Grüner Veltliner and for most there is both the basic klassik and DAC Reserve with higher minimum alcohol and, sometimes, later release. leithaberg is subdivided into red and white blends. Six DACs share the name of an official growing region while eisenberg is named for a village and vineyard site but effectively covers an entire region. DAC is one of the Austrian denominations that is classified as a pdo in eu terminology.