Hungary: Wine regions

Appears in

Oxford Companion to Wine

Oxford Companion to Wine

By Jancis Robinson

Published 2006

  • About

Hungarian law in this century established 22 wine regions. In 2009, in keeping with the eu reforms of controlled appellation terminology, these were replaced by 36 pdos (Oltalom alatt álló eredet megjelöléssel or OEM in Hungarian) and six pgis (Oltalom alatt álló földrajzi jelzéssel or OFJ): Zempléni, Zemplén/Felső-Magyarországi, Felső-magyarország, Duna, Dunántúl, and Balaton. The following pdos may be considered pre-eminent: Badacsony, Balatonboglár, eger, Etyek-Buda, Somló, sopron, szekszárd, tokaj, and villány. Names such as Mátra, Neszmély, and Pannonhalma may also be familiar from export labels. The wine regions fall into three major geographical groups, as outlined below.