The new vegetarian’s preoccupation with replacing the protein gap left by meat is a misguided one. There are many other sources of protein and the body does not require huge amounts of it anyway. Many vegetarians are happy to consume milk, cheese and eggs for their protein intake, but these products are not the answer if you are allergic to them, or if you follow a vegan diet. For people in this dilemma, it is possible to buy milk extracted from soya beans, vegetarian cheese made from plant rennet, and a vegan egg substitute. The latter is particularly useful for binding dishes, such as pâtés and moulds, which traditionally rely on eggs to help keep their shape.